Semester 2 – Day 34

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 11.21.50 AM

Based on the Ramsey’s presentation to my grad students yesterday evening, I decided to modify my lesson plan.

The original video I had in mind was

Students would have all the data and could easily calculate the accelerations, forces etc. to get an estimate of the devastation of the impact. I could even have them look up the mass of the car and its length so that they could estimate the compression.

Instead, I showed them this clip first:

This time I will have students predict the impact force based only on knowing the make of the car and the mass of the inhabitants.

Only then will they be allowed to see the first clip and calculate a better estimate of the force to compare. They seemed more intrigued by the second video. We will see how this plays out in class next time.

Leave a Reply

