Semester 2 – Day 9

Image

I was out with students for a spiritual retreat, and gave my remaining blocks some work to do. I am always concerned in such cases that the work just doesn’t get done with a sub. Furthermore, many of the students on the retreat were in my class which means a significant number now need to get caught up.

As mentioned in a previous post, I have started doing lesson plans that divide up the class in to 5-minute chunks. This continues to be helpful as I try not make any activity last more than 15 minutes. 

Students seem to react positively to “lecture classes” by which I mean classes with no labs, and pretty much all practice problems and notes, when I keep things moving. 

Leave a Reply

