Day 41

20131028-091706.jpg

I have decided that ticker tape timers are too complicated. I want my students to use simple data to “discover” the equations governing acceleration. To this end I’m simply having them run a cart down an incline and take measurements. They simply measured displacement and time. I asked them to be extremely careful so these measurements took the whole lab period. They averaged 5 time trials for displacements of 10 cm up to 100 cm.

In the next class I will have them plot position vs. time and instantaneous velocity vs. time. I am a bit nervous because they are calculating average velocities for each run, and I will need to be careful in guiding them to the concept of instantaneous velocity.

Leave a Reply

