Day 23

I guess I must say that I really love the individual whiteboard.

It makes lecture and direct instruction so much easier. I can throw a problem at students, let them jot out their answer and it is very effective formative assessment as they hold up their whiteboards for me to see.

What amazed me about using the full modeling approach to constant velocity was seeing my students take their ideas beyond just what they did in lab.

The problem I was most proud of was this one, one they had never seen before:

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.52.47 PM

I wish I had the sense to have taken photos of  their whiteboard answers, because the overwhelming majority (27 out of 30) wrote something pretty much like this:

“A starts out ahead of B, but B is going faster. Where they graphs cross is where B catches up to A”

I went through about 10 questions like this on whiteboards for 45 minutes straight, and they were really engaged. I asked them on a scale of 1 to 5 how they like this form of lecture and they almost all said 5’s.

I have one student who gave me a 1 saying that she likes direct instruction. I asked her if it would help if I summarized every problem done in class on a PDF with bullet points of key information. She nodded vigorously.

So it looks like everyone can be happy sometimes.

I am really excited to explore modeling instruction further.

 

Leave a Reply

